End of the semester review

Well, we’re sitting here in class and the guy who gets paid to talk at us told us we have to write about our changed impressions of journalism and blogging and all that good stuff since the beginning of the semester.
Well, to be honest, they haven’t changed that much. I would still love to be a writer, and make it my job and still be able to support a family. But I’m still fearful that the reality is less wonderful, but I’m stubborn and probably going to try anyway, in some form or another (I’m sorry in advance for all the disappointing Christmases and hungry nights, future children!). I learned that writing a blog isn’t necessarily harder than I originally thought, it just requires the discipline to follow through with it on a regular basis, which is my main problem. I could use the excuse that I had too much going on, which to be fair, I did, but just like anything else, I could have squeezed it in. I guess this sums up a lot of my activities in life; lack of discipline to just sit down and DO IT. Granted, I’m a lot better at it than I used to be, but there’s definitely a lot of room for improvement.
As far as how I feel about the direction journalism is heading these days, I’m excited about it. I feel like I have a better idea now than I did four months ago of what’s going to be expected of me, and what skills I need to get there. I may still be unsure of whether or not I’ll be a traditional (or semi-traditional) “journalist,” but I’ll always be a writer in some form. Maybe I’ll get some 9-5 or go to grad school and shoot for something crazy, but I’m hoping I can always find time to write, and if the opportunity presented itself to drop everything else and get that book deal, quit my job and become a viable full-time writer for the rest of my life, or write screenplays, or be a journalist, I would jump at the chance. Until then, I’m going to be cautious about it. I’m looking for a job right now, and so is my wife, and it’s a terrible time to do so. I have a lot of dreams I want to accomplish, and many of them are directly related to being a writer, but some of them require not being a broke-ass dude with a sign that says “Will write for food.”

Leave a Reply

